lucene-solr-user mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Shawn Heisey <apa...@elyograg.org>
Subject Re: add and then delete same document before commit,
Date Wed, 18 Nov 2015 15:51:02 GMT
On 11/18/2015 8:21 AM, Matteo Grolla wrote:
> On Solr 4.10.3 I'm noting a different (desired) behaviour
> 
> 1) add document x
> 2) delete document x
> 3) commit
> 
> document x doesn't get indexed.

If the last operation for document X is to delete it, then it will be
gone after the commit and not searchable.

Order of operations is critical, and it's important to realize that Solr
is not transactional.  With a relational database like MySQL, updates
made by one client can be logically separate from updates made by
another client.  Solr (Lucene) does not have that logical separation.
When a commit happens, no matter where the commit comes from, changes
made by ALL clients before that commit will become visible.

Thanks,
Shawn


Mime
View raw message