metron-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From James Sirota <>
Subject Re: [VOTE] Final Board Resolution Draft
Date Thu, 16 Mar 2017 04:56:02 GMT
Taylor, how do I find email addresses for the people on this list? They are not listed 

15.03.2017, 13:07, "P. Taylor Goetz" <>:
> A few things that should be corrected:
> - The PMC list should include the Apache email address of those individuals
> - Remove the list of committers (only PMC members are listed in a graduation resolution)
> - You can drop the paragraph about bylaws since it’s not required and you already have
> -Taylor
>>  On Mar 15, 2017, at 3:24 PM, James Sirota <> wrote:
>>  Please vote 1 for OK, -1 for not OK, and 0 for neutral. The vote will be open for
72 hours.
>>  The incubating Apache Metron community believes it is time to graduate to TLP.
>>  Apache Metron entered incubation in December of 2015. Since then, we've overcome
technical challenges to remove Category X dependencies, and made 3 releases. Our most recent
release contains binary convenience artifacts. We are a very helpful and engaged community,
ready to answer all questions and feedback directed to us via the user list. Through our time
in incubation we've added a number of committers and promoted some of them to PPMC membership.
We are actively pursuing others. While we do still have issues to address raised by means
of the maturity model, all projects are ongoing processes, and we believe we no longer need
the incubator to continue addressing these issues.
>>  To inform the discussion, here is some basic project information:
>>  Project status:
>>  Project website:
>>  Project documentation:
>>  Maturity assessment:
>>  DRAFT of the board resolution is at the bottom of this email
>>  Proposed PMC size: 25 members
>>  Total number of committers: 6 members
>>  PMC affiliation (* indicated chair)
>>  * Hortonworks
>>  Cisco
>>  Rackspace
>>  B23
>>  Mantech
>>  Kinetica
>>  Committer affiliation:
>>  Leidos
>>  Paychex
>>  Carnegie Mellon University
>>  Hortonworks
>>  516 commits on develop
>>  34 contributors across all branches
>>  dev list averaged ~650 msgs/month for the last 3 months
>>  Resolution:
>>  Establish the Apache Metron Project
>>  WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
>>  interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
>>  Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
>>  Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of
>>  open-source software, for distribution at no charge to the
>>  public, related to a security analytics platform for big data use cases.
>>  NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
>>  Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache Metron Project",
>>  be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
>>  Foundation; and be it further
>>  RESOLVED, that the Apache Metron Project be and hereby is
>>  responsible for the creation and maintenance of software
>>  related to:
>>  (a) A mechanism to capture, store, and normalize any type of security telemetry
at extremely high rates.
>>  (b) Real time processing and application of enrichments
>>  (c) Efficient information storage
>>  (d) An interface that gives a security investigator a centralized view of data
and alerts passed through the system.
>>  RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache Metron" be
>>  and hereby is created, the person holding such office to
>>  serve at the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair
>>  of the Apache Metron Project, and to have primary responsibility
>>  for management of the projects within the scope of
>>  responsibility of the Apache Metron Project; and be it further
>>  RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
>>  hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
>>  Apache Metron Project:
>>  PPMC:
>>  Mark Bittmann
>>  Sheetal Dolas
>>  Debo Dutta
>>  Discovery Gerdes
>>  P. Taylor Goetz
>>  Andrew Hartnett
>>  Dave Hirko
>>  Paul Kehrer
>>  Brad Kolarov
>>  Kiran Komaravolu
>>  Larry McCay
>>  Ryan Merriman
>>  Michael Perez
>>  Charles Porter
>>  Phillip Rhodes
>>  Sean Schulte
>>  James Sirota
>>  Casey Stella
>>  Bryan Taylor
>>  Ray Urciuoli
>>  Vinod Kumar Vavilapalli
>>  George Vetticaden
>>  Oskar Zabik
>>  David Lyle
>>  Nick Allen
>>  Committers:
>>  Otto Fowler
>>  Kyle Richardson
>>  Justin Leet
>>  Michael Miklavcic
>>  Jon Zeolla
>>  Matt Foley
>>  be appointed to the office of Vice President, Apache Metron, to
>>  serve in accordance with and subject to the direction of the
>>  Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until
>>  death, resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification,
>>  or until a successor is appointed; and be it further
>>  RESOLVED, that the initial Apache Metron PMC be and hereby is
>>  tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to
>>  encourage open development and increased participation in the
>>  Apache Metron Project; and be it further
>>  RESOLVED, that the Apache Metron Project be and hereby
>>  is tasked with the migration and rationalization of the Apache
>>  Incubator Metron podling; and be it further
>>  RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache
>>  Incubator Metron podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
>>  Project are hereafter discharged.
>>  -------------------
>>  Thank you,
>>  James Sirota
>>  PPMC- Apache Metron (Incubating)
>>  jsirota AT apache DOT org

Thank you,

James Sirota
PPMC- Apache Metron (Incubating)
jsirota AT apache DOT org

View raw message