roller-commits mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Glen Mazza (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Commented] (ROL-1616) Input fields not emptied after creating a new user
Date Sat, 28 Dec 2013 12:48:52 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/ROL-1616?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=13858013#comment-13858013
] 

Glen Mazza commented on ROL-1616:
---------------------------------

Hi Gaurav, you'll get credit for this patch, but looking through the matter I think we've
made a mistake, the premise for this JIRA item is wrong.  If we were to fix this, all we really
need is a "Create Another User" link on the New user page, that will map to http://localhost:8080/roller/roller-ui/admin/createUser.rol
with a brand-new empty backing bean, exactly the same command that the "Create a New User"
link on the user administration page uses, and what we already do with the "New Blog Entry"
button on the blog edit page.

When we hit "publish" on a blog entry, the app doesn't take us to a new (empty) blog entry,
but keeps us on the old one, so we can do post-validation with our eyes and fix anything (typos,
whatever) that we missed, we can copy the new URL and put it in an email to send to our bosses,
etc.  Likewise, for here, after we make a successful save, we check again all user data is
OK and then send an email to the new user listing his account name and other details.  If
we missed something, we can fix it right there and hit save again.  If we just erase the screen
immediately afterwards, the administrator won't have the information in front of him anymore
to write his email (did I give him account dsmith or smithd?), and will lose that important
post-validation step to make sure he didn't accidentally make the person an admin or disable
the new user or whatever.  So the JIRA submitter's contention " At least there is no reason
for it to [remain] filled.", just isn't true, post-validation is important.  

Also, using JPA, it's risky for us to be reusing backing beans (and it results in clumsy,
error-prone coding) because of the chance of older data filtering into the new user account
(or vice-versa) -- starting with a blank page and a new backing bean is easiest to code and
the most robust and safest solution.  

That brings us to the next issue -- why don't we have a "Create Another User" link on the
New User page, alongside the current "Save" and "Cancel" buttons? It's trivial to put in,
but I think the problem is that too many users will mistake the "Save" button for the "Create
New User" button.  I.e., you fill in all your data, then want to create your New user with
that data, so you hit "Create Another User" instead of "Save" and become angry to see that
all your data was lost and no new user created.  Indeed, it's hard to give a name to this
"Create Another User" button that would cause it not to be accidentally used as a Save, but
if you can think of a good title I'm open to it.

Presently, an Admin that needs to create many accounts just needs to click on the User Administration
button after a save and the click "New User" link there, so he's only losing one extra click.
 Or, just bookmark the "http://localhost:8080/roller/roller-ui/admin/createUser.rol" in his
browser and he'll get to a brand new form everytime he goes to it.  So I'm inclined to revert
your original patch to where we were before (i.e., make subsequent saves an "Update" rather
than a "New User") and close this JIRA as a won't fix.  WDYT?   (And sorry...  :)

> Input fields not emptied after creating a new user
> --------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: ROL-1616
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/ROL-1616
>             Project: Roller
>          Issue Type: Bug
>          Components: User Management
>    Affects Versions: 4.0, 5.1
>         Environment: Java6u3, Tomcat5.5, Roller 4.0-rc10
>            Reporter: Ronald Iwema
>            Assignee: Roller Unassigned
>            Priority: Minor
>         Attachments: ASF.LICENSE.NOT.GRANTED--screenshot-1.jpg, CreateUser.patch, CreateUserPatch.png,
ImprovedCreateUser.patch
>
>
> When logged in as an administrator and adding a new user, the user is succesfully created,
but when that happens, the registration screen appears again with all the data filled in.
This should probably be empty. At least there is no reason for it to be filled.



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.1.5#6160)

Mime
View raw message