roller-commits mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Glen Mazza (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Closed] (ROL-1343) Clicking the Full Preview button should execute "Save as Draft" logic so user doesn't lose their post
Date Sat, 07 Jun 2014 03:28:01 GMT

     [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/ROL-1343?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:all-tabpanel
]

Glen Mazza closed ROL-1343.
---------------------------

    Resolution: Won't Fix

Retiring this 2007 issue as nobody seems inclined to change the code over this.  As with Dave
in 2007, I've never had a problem with the current behavior, and I've blogged with Roller
very heavily for years.  At worst it's just a easily learned quirk with Roller that you need
to first save and validate your text before hitting the Preview button, if you wish for the
latter to reproduce the latest text you entered.  

But tying the Save validation into the Preview (as a result of combining the functionality)
seems messy and not worth the effort, and has the slight drawback of sending the user's text
to the server (as a consequence of the preview now doing a save) before he may have intended
for that to happen.


> Clicking the Full Preview button should execute "Save as Draft" logic so user doesn't
lose their post
> -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: ROL-1343
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/ROL-1343
>             Project: Apache Roller
>          Issue Type: Improvement
>          Components: User Interface - Weblog Editor
>    Affects Versions: 3.1
>            Reporter: Matt Raible
>            Assignee: Roller Unassigned
>
> To reproduce, create a new entry. Save it as a draft. On the resulting screen, add more
text to the entry and then click "Full Preview". The preview screen doesn't contain the added
text and if the user clicks "Edit" the text is not their either. If they click "back" on their
browser, it may be there, but we should do everything we can do preserve edited posts. Losing
a post is the worst thing that can happen to a blogger IMO. 



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.2#6252)

Mime
View raw message