subversion-users mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Bob Archer <Bob.Arc...@amsi.com>
Subject RE: Help with constant conflicts
Date Fri, 13 May 2011 15:33:08 GMT
> On Fri, May 13, 2011 at 4:35 PM, Stephen Butler <sbutler@elego.de>
> wrote:
> >
> > On May 13, 2011, at 13:41 , K.L. wrote:
> >
> >> Hi,
> >>
> >> Having problems with merge.
> >
> > [...]
> >
> >> me@localhost /srv/www/svnbugs/branches/branch1 $ svn merge
> >> svn+ssh://example.com/var/svn/svnbugs/trunk
> >> --- Merging r4 through r5 into '.':
> >> A    dir2
> >
> > [...]
> >
> >> me@localhost /srv/www/svnbugs/trunk $ svn merge
> >> svn+ssh://example.com/var/svn/svnbugs/branches/branch1
> >> --- Merging r4 through r7 into '.':
> >>   C dir2
> >> A    dir3
> >> Summary of conflicts:
> >>  Tree conflicts: 1
> >> me@localhost /srv/www/svnbugs/trunk $ svn st
> >> M      .
> >>      C dir2
> >>>  local add, incoming add upon merge
> >> A  +    dir3
> >
> > [...]
> >
> >> Is it a bug or we issue wrong commands?
> >>
> >
> > The second merge was wrong.  To merge branch1 changes back to
> > the trunk, use 'merge --reintegrate ^/branches/branch1'.
> >
> > See the section "Reintegrating a branch" in the SVN Book:
> >
> >  http://svnbook.red-
> bean.com/nightly/en/svn.branchmerge.basicmerging.html#svn.brancheme
> rge.basicmerging.reintegrate
> Thanks. We used reintegrate option occasionally without knowing its
> true purpose and assuming it's default when merging into trunk.

No it isn't default. svn doesn't know if you are merging into trunk... and trunk is just a
convention. 

I suggest you read the merging/branching chapter in the svn book. It really helps to understand
how things work if you want to use it effectively.

> I've also read that svn 1.6 allows for multiple reintegrates. Can
> you
> confirm it? Do multiple reintegrates completely equivalent to
> delete
> and copy if so? 

No... read the book on continuing to use a branch after re-integration. It is possible but
you have to be pro-active to allow it by doing a --record-only merge from trunk of the revision
which is the commit of the merge from the branch.

> And is it safe to recreate branch with the same name as deleted?

Sure... not a problem.

Just keep in mind you know the semantics of your branch. 

If it is a feature branch you are going to generally merge from trunk as you work on the feature
and then reintegrate the branch when you are done with the feature. Since you are done with
the feature you [normally would] delete the branch.

BOb

Mime
View raw message