subversion-users mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Andy Levy <andy.l...@gmail.com>
Subject Re: Update fails to delete a line of code
Date Wed, 04 Apr 2012 18:50:07 GMT
On Wed, Apr 4, 2012 at 14:38, Reed, David <DReed@cmal.com> wrote:
> I am not subscribed, so please be so kind as to CC me in your response.
> Thanks.
>
>
>
> Using relatively current versions of SubversionEdge and TortoiseSVN, I
> "committed" a file (from which I had deleted a line of code in my local
> workspace).
>
>
>
> Then I logged onto my app server and used TortoiseSVN and "updated" the same
> file.
>
>
>
> I was surprised to see that, instead of replacing the file on the app server
> with the latest revision, a merge was performed automatically.  Without
> asking me, the file on the app server was merged with the version I had
> committed to the repository, and this merge resulted in *no change* to the
> copy on the app server -- since the merge kept in place the line of code I
> was trying to delete.
>
>
>
> Obviously, this was not the desired result.  What should I do differently,
> so that committing a file with a line deleted, and then updating the same
> file on a second machine, will result in the file on the second machine
> reflecting the deletion?

Did the file on your app server have any uncommitted changes in it?

Mime
View raw message