subversion-users mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Ryan Schmitz <jschm...@marketstar.com>
Subject RE: error when upgrading working copy
Date Tue, 01 May 2012 20:24:46 GMT
Yes! I removed the 'delete' before the deleted flag, leaving in the empty line preceding it,
and I was able to upgrade SVN to 1.7.6. Thanks for all your help!

Ryan Schmitz   |   OLAP Developer / Kalido Specialist   |   MarketStar   |   People + Knowledge
Accelerating Sales
e  jschmitz@marketstar.com   |   w  801.786.5287   |   m  435.553.1230   |   f  801.393.4115



-----Original Message-----
From: MARTIN PHILIP [mailto:codematters@ntlworld.com] On Behalf Of Philip Martin
Sent: Tuesday, May 01, 2012 2:14 PM
To: Ryan Schmitz
Cc: Daniel Shahaf; users@subversion.apache.org
Subject: Re: error when upgrading working copy

Ryan Schmitz <jschmitz@marketstar.com> writes:

> It appears to be failing in the Data Definitions subfolder. There were
> no 'deleted' flags in the entries folder there, but there were several
> in the folders that were at the next level down. I've pasted the
> entries with the deleted flag below, and the first one,
> DeviceSalesLastSevenDaysdir caught my eye because it has both delete
> and deleted.

That will be it.

"delete" means "delete this at the next commit".

"deleted" means "commit has deleted this" or "update has removed this".

I don't think it's valid for a node to have both set.

> These entries refer to folders at the next level that were recently
> deleted, and I remember that, for this first one, I accidentally
> deleted it irreversibly through the file system before deleting it
> from SVN, and I had to do something funky to get it back to a point
> that I could check it in. The folder was empty, and I tried to recover
> it through SVN, but that didn't work. I ended up creating a new folder
> with the same name and deleting it through SVN, but it was tricky when
> committing. I hope this is helpful to your evaluation process. I've
> attached the three entries folders that I've examined for your
> reference and named them for the folder they resided in.

The delete/deleted combination is not supposed to occur, it's a 1.6 bug that it let you get
into that state.

You may be able to upgrade the rest of the working copy by editing the .svn/entries file that
has the delete/deleted entry. Remove the delete but make sure to leave the empty line.

$ svnadmin create repo
$ svn mkdir -mm file://`pwd`/repo/A
$ svn1.6 co file://`pwd`/repo wc
$ svn1.6 up -r0 wc/A
$ edit wc/.svn/entries          # add delete at line 34
$ svn1.7 upgrade wc
svn: E235000: In file '../src-1.7/subversion/libsvn_wc/entries.c' line 126: assertion failed
(entry->schedule == svn_wc_schedule_add || entry->schedule == svn_wc_schedule_normal)
Aborted

It appears that 1.6 ignores the delete and gives deleted precedence:

$ svn1.6 st wc
$ svn1.6 info wc/A
wc/A:  (Not a versioned resource)
svn: A problem occurred; see other errors for details

I suppose 1.7 could do the same but upgrading corrupt working copies is not really practical
because we don't know what else is broken.

--
Philip
This email is intended only for the person or entity to which it is addressed and may contain
information that is privileged, confidential or otherwise protected from disclosure. Dissemination,
distribution or copying of this e-mail or the information herein by anyone other than the
intended recipient, or an employee or agent responsible for delivering the message to the
intended recipient, is prohibited. If you have received this e-mail in error, please immediately
notify us by replying to sender.

Mime
View raw message