subversion-users mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Branko ─îibej <br...@apache.org>
Subject Re: SVN merge between branches is actually overwrite?
Date Sat, 26 Nov 2016 14:31:01 GMT
On 26.11.2016 14:49, James wrote:
> I just found if I merge branch B to branch A, the two branches will become the same.
changes in branch A will gone. Is this by design? or I did something wrong? I am using the
latest Tortoise.
>
>
> I did more than once with the instruction found online:
>
> In the From URL option, you should mention the branch to which you have to merge. For
example, assume that there are 2 branches branch A and branch B, and you want to merge branch
B to branch A. In TortoiseSVN, click on Merge option and then select Merge two different trees
option. In the From URL, please mention URL of branch A and in the To URL, mention URL of
branch B. This should merge branch B to branch A without loosing any files.
>
> Thanks,James

I've been looking at the TortoiseSVN docs:

https://tortoisesvn.net/docs/release/TortoiseSVN_en/tsvn-dug-merge.html

the secton on "Merging Two Different Trees," and I have to admit that I
haven't a clue what they're talking about. I suspect it's the closest
equivalent to the SVN command-line client's 2-URL merge strategy. Note
that our help text starts like this:

    You should use this merge variant only if the other variants do not
    apply to your situation, as this variant can be quite complex to master.

I'm almost certain that you do *not* what to use this but should,
instead, use TortoiseSVN's "Merging a Range of Revisions" feature.


To answer your question, yes, you probably did something wrong. :) And
TortoiseSVN did exactly what you told it to do, not what you wanted to
do ...

-- Brane


Mime
View raw message