After many years of development, we have over 100 entries in the svn:mergeinfo property of our trunk. I am thinking about manually editing the property to remove entries for all branches that have been deleted or are no longer used (and should be deleted). I am hoping that once I merge trunk into the other active branches, the cleanup of that property will also propagate to the other branches.
So my questions are:
- Is this safe to do?
- Will the changes to the properly be merged to all other branches over time as one would expect?