subversion-users mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From OBones <obo...@free.fr>
Subject Re: Moving SVN from one server to another
Date Thu, 26 Apr 2018 09:26:38 GMT
Ryan Schmidt wrote:
> On Apr 25, 2018, at 07:15, OBones wrote:
>
>> Nico Kadel-Garcia wrote:
>>> In general, to jump that many major revisions, I tend to use "svnsync"
>>> to allow the repositories to stay synchronized while the client stays
>>> talking to the first repository, then take the first repository
>>> entirely offline. Note that this is probably the first opportunity, in
>>> years, to obliterate content from the old repositories "and reset the
>>> ID of the new repository, to avoid clients getting confused about
>>> obliterated content.
>> Setting up the svnsync is explained in the manual, but how do you "turn it off" of
afterwards?
> svnsync synchronizes every time you run it. If you don't want to synchronize anymore,
simply don't run it again.
>
Well, maybe I read this wrong, but the manual talks about a master and a 
slave, which are tightly related. If I remove the master once the slave 
is fully ready to take over its role, I'm not sure it will work 
smoothly, hence my question.

Mime
View raw message