tez-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Bikas Saha <bi...@hortonworks.com>
Subject RE: [VOTE] Graduate Apache Tez from the Incubator
Date Tue, 24 Jun 2014 17:22:07 GMT
+1.

The project has made regular releases, encouraged new contributors, helped
early adopters like Apache Hive and Apache Pig, and is gaining increasing
traction and mindshare.

Bikas

-----Original Message-----
From: Siddharth Seth [mailto:sseth@apache.org]
Sent: Monday, June 23, 2014 11:41 PM
To: dev@tez.incubator.apache.org
Subject: [VOTE] Graduate Apache Tez from the Incubator

Hi All,

Graduation of Apache Tez has been discussed on the dev mailing list at
http://mail-archives.apache.org/mod_mbox/incubator-tez-dev/201406.mbox/%3C1403216547.74281.YahooMailNeo%40web121703.mail.ne1.yahoo.com%3E

Following the discussion and recommendations, this is a vote for the Apache
Tez community to decide on the graduation of Apache Tez from the Incubator.
A copy of the graduation resolition follows.

The VOTE will be open for at least 72 hours.
[ ] +1 Graduate Apache Tez from the Incubator.
[ ] +0 Don't care
[ ] -1 Don't graduate Apache Tez from the Incubator because ...


Here's my +1.

Thanks
- Sid


Here's a draft of the graduation resolution.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best interests of the
Foundation and consistent with the Foundation's purpose to establish a
Project Management Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of
open-source software, for distribution at no charge to the public, related
to fast and flexible large-scale data analysis on clusters.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management Committee (PMC),
to be known as the "Apache Tez Project", be and hereby is established
pursuant to Bylaws of the Foundation; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Apache Tez Project be and hereby is responsible for the
creation and maintenance of software related to efficient cluster
management, resource isolation and sharing across distributed applications;
and be it further RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache Tez"
be and hereby is created, the person holding such office to serve at the
direction of the Board of Directors as the chair of the Apache Tez Project,
and to have primary responsibility for management of the projects within the
scope of responsibility of the Apache Tez Project; and be it further
RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and hereby are
appointed to serve as the initial members of the Apache Tez Project:

  * Alan Gates <gates@apache.org>
  * Arun C. Murthy <acmurthy@apache.org>
  * Ashutosh Chauhan <hashutosh@apache.org>
  * Bill Graham <billgraham@apache.org>
  * Bikas Saha <bikas@apache.org>
  * Chris Douglas <cdouglas@apache.org>
  * Chris Mattmann <mattmann@apache.org>
  * Daryn Sharp <daryn@apache.org>
  * Devaraj Das <ddas@apache.org>
  * Gopal Vijayaraghavan <gopalv@apache.org>
  * Gunther Hagleitner <gunther@apache.org>
  * Hitesh Shah <hitesh@apache.org>
  * Jitendra Pandey <jitendra@apache.org>
  * Jason Lowe <jlowe@apache.org>
  * Jakob Homan <jghoman@apache.org>
  * Julien Le Dem <julien@apache.org>
  * Kevin Wilfong <kevinwilfong@apache.org>
  * Mike Liddell <mliddell@apache.org>
  * Mohammad Kamrul Islam <kamrul@apache.org>
  * Namit Jain <namit@apache.org>
  * Nathan Roberts <nroberts@apache.org>
  * Owen O’Malley <omalley@apache.org>
  * Rajesh Balamohan <rbalamohan@apache.org>
  * Robert Evans <bobby@apache.org>
  * Rohini Palaniswamy <rohini@apache.org>
  * Siddharth Seth <sseth@apache.org>
  * Tassapol Athiapinya <tassapola@apache.org>
  * Thomas Graves <tgraves@apache.org>
  * Tom White <tomwhite@apache.org>
  * Vikram Dixit <vikram@apache.org>
  * Vinod Kumar Vavilapalli <vinodkv@apache.org>

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Hitesh Shah be appointed to the
office of Vice President, Apache Tez, to serve in accordance with and
subject to the direction of the Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the
Foundation until death, resignation, retirement, removal or
disqualification, or until a successor is appointed; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Apache Tez Project be and hereby is tasked with the
migration and rationalization of the Apache Incubator Tez podling; and be it
further

RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache Incubator Tez
podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator Project are hereafter
discharged.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-- 
CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE
NOTICE: This message is intended for the use of the individual or entity to 
which it is addressed and may contain information that is confidential, 
privileged and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If the reader 
of this message is not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that 
any printing, copying, dissemination, distribution, disclosure or 
forwarding of this communication is strictly prohibited. If you have 
received this communication in error, please contact the sender immediately 
and delete it from your system. Thank You.

Mime
View raw message