ws-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Sanjiva Weerawarana <sanj...@opensource.lk>
Subject 5 Google Summer of Code projects awarded for WS projects
Date Sat, 02 Jul 2005 20:33:52 GMT
Hi Guys,

[My apologies for sending this late; been travelling again ..]

As many of you know, a few weeks ago, Google announced a program to give
$1m to fund 200 summer interns at $5000 each for the students to work on
open source projects. More details can be seen at:
        http://code.google.com/summerofcode.html

Given the interest they received, they expanded the program to $2
million to offer 400 projects. They finished the allocations recently
and actually they ended up funding 410 projects.

Of the 38 projects which were granted to ASF (which was the largest to
any organization BTW), 5 of them went to WS projects:

Student: Chathura C. Ekanayake <ccekanayake@yahoo.com> 
Project: JMX interface for Axis2
Mentor: Srinath Perera(< hemapani@apache.org>), Deepal Jayasinghe
(<deepal@apache.org>)

Student: Dinesh Premalal <xydinesh@gmail.com> 
Project: StAX C Parser
Mentor: Sanjiva Weerawarana <sanjiva@apache.org>

Student: Jayamanna N.A.J. <jananda@gmail.com> 
	(jointly with Indika Kumara & Sudam Sagara)
Project: Integrate RSS with Apache AXIS2
Mentor: Ajith Ranabahu (<ajith@apache.org>) , Eran Chinthaka (<
chinthaka@apache.org>) 

Student: N.K.Thilina Gunarathne <csethil@gmail.com> 
Project : Kandula
Mentor: Dasarath Weerathunga (<dasarath@apache.org>), Sanjiva
Weerawarana (<sanjiva@apache.org>)

Student: Mark Pimentel <mark.pimentel@gmail.com> 
Project: Binary Protocol Support for Axis2 
Mentor: Eran Chinthaka (< chinthaka@apache.org>) , Srinath Perera(<
hemapani@apache.org>)

Congrats to these students for the excellent proposals which lead to
these selections! 

I'll send a note to the PMC list to discuss how we want to handle their
work in SVN.

Sanjiva.


Mime
View raw message