www-announce mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Jason Gustafson <j...@apache.org>
Subject [ANNOUNCE] Apache Kafka Released
Date Thu, 20 Oct 2016 18:05:04 GMT
The Apache Kafka community is pleased to announce the release for Apache
Kafka This is a feature release which includes the completion of
15 KIPs, over 200 bug fixes and improvements, and more than 500 pull
requests merged.

All of the changes in this release can be found in the release notes:

Apache Kafka is high-throughput, publish-subscribe messaging system
rethought of as a distributed commit log.

** Fast => A single Kafka broker can handle hundreds of megabytes of reads
and writes per second from thousands of clients.

** Scalable => Kafka is designed to allow a single cluster to serve as the
central data backbone for a large organization. It can be elastically and
transparently expanded without downtime. Data streams are partitioned
and spread over a cluster of machines to allow data streams larger than
the capability of any single machine and to allow clusters of co-ordinated

** Durable => Messages are persisted on disk and replicated within the
cluster to prevent data loss. Each broker can handle terabytes of messages
without performance impact.

** Distributed by Design => Kafka has a modern cluster-centric design that
offers strong durability and fault-tolerance guarantees.

You can download the source release from

and binary releases from

Thanks to the 115 contributors on this release!

Alex Glikson, Alex Loddengaard, Alexey Ozeritsky, Alexey Romanchuk, Andrea
Cosentino, Andrew Otto, Andrey Neporada, Apurva Mehta, Arun Mahadevan,
Ashish Singh, Avi Flax, Ben Stopford, Bharat Viswanadham, Bill Bejeck,
Bryan Baugher, Chen Zhu, Christian Posta, Damian Guy, Dan Norwood, Dana
Powers, David Chen, Derrick Or, Dong Lin, Dustin Cote, Edoardo Comar, Elias
Levy, Eno Thereska, Eric Wasserman, Ewen Cheslack-Postava, Filipe Azevedo,
Flavio Junqueira, Florian Hussonnois, Geoff Anderson, Grant Henke, Greg
Fodor, Guozhang Wang, Gwen Shapira, Hans Deragon, Henry Cai, Ishita
Mandhan, Ismael Juma, Jaikiran Pai, Jakub Dziworski, Jakub Pilimon, James
Cheng, Jan Filipiak, Jason Gustafson, Jay Kreps, Jeff Klukas, Jendrik
Poloczek, Jeyhun Karimov, Jiangjie Qin, Johnny Lim, Jonathan Bond, Jun Rao,
Kaufman Ng, Kenji Yoshida, Konstantine Karantasis, Kota Uchida, Laurier
Mantel, Liquan Pei, Luke Zaparaniuk, Magnus Reftel, Manikumar Reddy O, Manu
Zhang, Mark Grover, Mathieu Fenniak, Matthias J. Sax, Maysam Yabandeh,
Mayuresh Gharat, Michael G. Noll, Mickael Maison, Moritz Siuts, Nafer
Sanabria, Nihed Bbarek, Onur Karaman, P. Thorpe, Peter Davis, Philippe
Derome, Pierre Coquentin, Rajini Sivaram, Randall Hauch, Rekha Joshi, Roger
Hoover, Rollulus, Ryan Pridgeon, Sahil Kharb, Samuel Taylor, Sasaki Toru,
Satendra Kumar, Sebastien Launay, Shikhar Bhushan, Shuai Zhang, Som Sahu,
Sriharsha Chintalapani, Sumit Arrawatia, Tao Xiao, Thanasis Katsadas, Tim
Brooks, Todd Palino, Tom Crayford, Tom Rybak, Vahid Hashemian, Wan Wenli,
William Thurston, William Yu, Xavier Léauté, Yang Wei, Yeva Byzek, Yukun
Guo, Yuto Kawamura, Zack Dever, 1ambda, leisore, sven0726

We welcome your help and feedback. For more information on how to
report problems, and to get involved, visit the project website at


View raw message