drill-user mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Sudheesh Katkam <skat...@maprtech.com>
Subject Resetting an option
Date Mon, 10 Aug 2015 21:20:33 GMT
Hey y‘all,

Re DRILL-1065 <https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/DRILL-1065>, at system level (ALTER
system RESET …), resetting an option would mean changing the value to the default provided
by Drill. But, at session level (ALTER session RESET …), would resetting an option mean:
(a) changing the value to the default provided by Drill? or,
(b) changing the value to the system value, that an admin could’ve changed?

(b) would not allow non-admin users to know what the default is (easily). However, for a given
option, (a) would allow a non-admin user to know what the default is (by resetting) and what
the system setting is (from sys.options). Opinions?

Thank you,
Sudheesh
Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message