ranger-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Bolke de Bruin (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Commented] (RANGER-980) User sync does not delete users if they do not exist anymore
Date Sun, 28 Aug 2016 11:44:21 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/RANGER-980?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=15443307#comment-15443307
] 

Bolke de Bruin commented on RANGER-980:
---------------------------------------

Ok. While I think you can just track the source system with a configurable uid, I really wonder
what happens now with multiple source authentication systems? The username is unique to Ranger/Hadoop.
Does every same username across the different authentication systems now get the same permissions?
I really hope that is not the case (we dont use multiple source and I havent tried).

> User sync does not delete users if they do not exist anymore
> ------------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: RANGER-980
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/RANGER-980
>             Project: Ranger
>          Issue Type: Bug
>          Components: usersync
>    Affects Versions: 0.6.0, 0.5.3
>            Reporter: Bolke de Bruin
>            Priority: Critical
>              Labels: security
>         Attachments: 0001-RANGER-980-User-sync-does-not-delete-users-if-they-d.patch,
RANGER-980.patch
>
>
> usersync for all sources creates users and groups, but does not delete them from Ranger's
database if these users and groups do not exists anymore in the original source.
> So if you have for example a user called "bob" and bob leaves the company his access
rights will continue to exist in Ranger. If a new employee comes in that is also "bob" he
is immediately granted the same access as the previous employee. This creates security incidents.
> In a reasonable complex company it cannot be expected that another user administration
is being taken care of, while deletion could and should happen automatically.



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.3.4#6332)

Mime
View raw message